You had to study traffic laws in order to pass the written test before you could receive your first driver's license. But it's easy to forget once you're on the road. This article serves as a reminder of some of the most common driving offenses in North Carolina. We will also consider the fines you may face, particularly if you do not have legal representation to assist you in the traffic courts.
Common Traffic Violations That Could Confront You in Jail
A moving or nonmoving infraction of North Carolina traffic laws can result in a ticket. Among the most serious transgressions are:
Driver Who Hit and Ran: Failure to stop at the site of an accident is prohibited in North Carolina. Many various charges can be charged against you, such as neglecting to contact the authorities, failing to submit information, failing to stop, and failing to provide help. Depending on the offense, you could face a misdemeanor or felony penalty. Penalties may include a jail or prison sentence, fines (which may be substantial for a felony conviction), and 4 to 12 points on your driving record.
Speeding: Driving at a speed that surpasses what a person would drive at given the current situation is illegal in North Carolina. Furthermore, North Carolina has an "absolute" speed limit regulation, which means that traveling even one mile over the official speed limit is considered speeding. You might be fined between $100 and $1,000, imprisoned for up to 60 days, and have your driver's license suspended for up to a year. Speeding can also result in three points being added to your driving record.
Unsafe Driving: You could be charged with reckless driving if you drive "carelessly or heedlessly in a willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others" or if you drive at a speed that puts other people or property in danger. Furthermore, if you are discovered driving at least 15 mph over the speed limit that is less than 55 mph, you may face reckless driving charges. As the speed limit increases, you risk committing a reckless driving penalty for exceeding the legal speed limit at a much lower speed. A conviction would be a Class 2 misdemeanor, and you would have a permanent criminal record as a result. Penalties could include up to 60 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, and four points on your driving record.
Driving While Your License Is Suspended: In North Carolina, your driver's license could be suspended or revoked for a variety of reasons, including having too many traffic infraction points on your record. Driving while your license has been revoked or suspended is a serious offense. You could be charged with a misdemeanor and sentenced to no more than 120 days in jail. Furthermore, depending on how many times you have been convicted of this act, your driver's license may be suspended for one or more years, or possibly permanently.
Have You Been Issued a Traffic Ticket in North Carolina?
If you have gotten a traffic penalty, you should contact an expert NC Traffic Ticket Lawyer as soon as possible. To schedule your free consultation, please contact us online or call our office.